ruth asawa san francisco school of the arts 
theatre department

Welcome to the Asawa SOTA Theatre Department!

Visit us on Facebook, Twitter & YouTube by clicking the links below


ASAWA SOTA THEATRE ALUMNI please let us know where you are and what you are up to by signing in on our GUESTBOOK page!

Goodbye to the Asawa SOTA Theatre Department Drama Studio. 2003 to 2013 - Ten wonderful years!
Check back often for our upcoming events and locations.


Tickets are now ON SALE for HAIR. CLICK HERE to get your tickets TODAY!

Tickets are now available for SNIPPETS. CLICK HERE to purchase yours today!


Congratulations to members of the Intermediate Two Class who won awards at the 2014 CETA NorCal High School Theatre Festival.

Congratulations to our Shakespeare 2014 winners: Gabriella Maalihan ('14) third place, William Lanier ('14) Second Place,
and Matthew Avery ('16) first place. Matthew will advance to the English-Speaking Union San Francisco Region Shakespeare Competition
 on Saturday, March 1, 2014 at Archbishop Riordan High School.

Click here to read A Note About the Asawa SOTA Theatre Drama Studio Closure.

"KATHLEEN TURNER: A YOUNGARTS MASTERCLASS" - Oscar and Tony nominated actress Kathleen Turner mentors four young students (including Michelle Ang, SOTA Theatre Class of 2012) aspiring to become professional actors by helping them work through prepared monologues, and offering insight into life as a actor. It premiered on MAY 22, 2013 on HBO, and is still available on HBO On Demand and the
HBO GO app. Click here to watch the trailer on YouTube.


    Asawa SOTA Theatre Alumni News

    Aya Cash (Theatre '00) is guest starring in two episodes of HBO’s series “The Newsroom”. Additionally, Aya will be featured in the upcoming comedy “Can A Song Save Your Life” with Mark Ruffalo and Keira Knightley, Adam Levine and CeeLo Green; and Martin Scorsese’s “The Wolf of Wall Street” staring Leonardo DeCaprio (Opening Fall 2013).

    Kevin Bigley (Theatre '05) will be starring in the new USA Network Series “Sirens” with Michael Mosley, Kevin Daniels, and Jessica McNamee. Premiering this fall, Sirens follows three of Chicago’s best EMTs whose sometimes silly, self-righteous and even self-destructive personalities make them unqualified for sustaining relationships, friendships and most occupations. They are, however, uniquely qualified for saving anyone who winds up in their ambulance. 

    Congratulations, Aya and Kevin!

    Congratulations to Annabel Hope ('14) on competing as a semi-finalist in the Annual English-Speaking Union National Shakespeare Competition at Lincoln Center. Click here to read more

Theatre Department Staff
1990 - Present   Phillip Rayher, Director
2002 - Present   Ellen Koivisto, Assistant Director
1982 - 1989   Lewis Campbell, Director

Script embedded in HTML